Annual Supporters’ Club Award Night

The annual Wexford GAA Supporters’ Club Awards Night was held on Friday night last 18th February in Whites Hotel Wexford.  This night is organised on an annual basis to recognise players and clu members who give of their time to represent their county and parishes with pride.  His Lordship, Bishop Denis Brennan and organising member Fr. Ódhrán Furlong joined the Supporters Club Special Events Chairman Seán Quirke for the evening.

Following a scrumptious meal served up by the staff of Whites Hotel, proceedings got underway when a citation on all the nominees was given by Seán Quirke and Fr. Ódhrán Furlong with a video screen showing clippings of the deserving candidates.  Seán Ormonde (Blackwater and Chairman of the Scór Committee) was unable to attend due to prior commitments and he left a message which everyone was delighted to hear.  The Co. Chairman, Ger Doyle and Jim Byrne, Chairman of the Supporters’ Club spoke a few words prior to the meal and J.J. Doyle (Manager of Wexford Camogie team) was the main guest speaker who gave an inspiring few words to the captive audience.

The night organised by Seán and his committee was thoroughly enjoyed by one and all.  The following are the recipients who received awards:

GAA Hall of Fame (Hurling & Football): Janette Kelly, daughter of
Seán Ormonde (Blackwater) accepts her award from Ger Doyle, Co. Chairman.

Hall of Fame (Camogie): Eileen O’Brien. Blackwater accepted her award from Éilís Kavanagh, Chairperson Wexford Camogie Board.
Hall of Fame (Ladies’ Football): Larry Fitzharris, Gusserane
O’Rahilly’s accepted his award from Michael O’Neill, Chairperson Ladies’ Football Board.

Club Persons of the Year (3)
Jack Hall, Buffers Alley accepted his award from Mary Nolan, Treasurer Wexford GAA Supporters’ Club.

Jim Byrne, Ballyhogue accepted his award from Úna Bird, Wexford GAA Supporters’Club.

John Donoghue accepted the award on behalf of Joe Donoghue (Glynn-Barntown).

Lady Footballer of the Year – Fiona Rochford (St. Anne’s) accepted her award from David Kent, Vice-Chairperson of Wexford GAA Supporters’ Club.

Camogie Player of the Year – Liz Parrock (St. Ibar’s) on behalf of her daughter,Katrina accepted her award from Jim Mernagh, Supporters’ Club Race Day Chairman.

Hurler of the Year: Diarmuid Lyng (St. Martin’s) accepted his award from Tom Doyle,Club Wexford Chairman.

Footballer of the Year: Ciarán Lyng (St. Martin’s) accepted his award from Denis Nolan, Supporters’ Club Membership Chairman.

Special Achievement Awards: (2)
JJ Doyle, Manager of Wexford Senior Camogie team accepted his award from Jim Byrne, Chairman Wexford Supporters’ Club.
Pádraig Murphy accepted the award on behalf of his niece Gráinne Murphy, Ballinaboola for her outstanding swimming achievements.

Nominess for Hurler of the Year: Keith Rossiter (Oulart-The Ballagh), Richie Kehoe (Faythe Harriers) and Diarmuid “Gizzy” Lyng (St. Martin’s).

Nominess for Footballer of the Year: Colm Morris (Castletown), Ciarán Lyng (St. Martin’s) and Redmond Barry (St. Anne’s).

Nominess for Camogie Player of the Year: Katrina Parrock (St. Ibar’s), Ursula Jacob (Oulart-The Ballagh) and Mags D’Arcy (St. Martin’s).

Lady Footballer of the Year: Leona Tector (Shelmaliers), Mary Rose Kelly (St. Fintan’s) and Fiona Rochford (St. Anne’s).

Loch Garman Abú:

Diarmuid Lyng, Liz Parrock, Fiona Rochford and Ciarán Lyng – the four players who received Player of the Year Award by Wexford GAA Supporters’ Club.