Doran’s goal, a terrific finish to the Allianz League 2011

Wexford maintained their Division One status as Willie Doran’s injury-time goal gave them a draw with Tipp at Semple Stadium.

The All-Ireland champions were 1/16 to win this game but the visitors had other ideas as they preserved their top-flight standing with a superb fightback to steal a 1-14 to 0-17 draw.

Tipp led by 0-11 to 0-6 at the break.

Noel McGrath, Michael Heffernan, Pa Bourke and John O’Brien got Tipp off to an ideal start before Wexford bagged their first score of the afternoon.

Midfielder James Woodlock (2), O’Brien and Heffernan were on target as Tipp moved 0-8 to 0-3 ahead after 21 minutes. Jim Berry and Harry Kehoe were on target for the Model men.

Rory Jacob, Bourke, Berry and PJ Nolan were amongst the scorers coming up to the short whistle but Berry missed a simple free just before the short whistle.

Wexford closed the gap to three with two Berry points at the start of the second half. It was 0-12 to 0-9 after points were traded by Rory Jacob and substitute John O’Neill.

Bourke tagged on a couple more points as the pre-match favourites remained just about in front: 0-16 to 0-11 in favour of the Premier County with eight minutes left. Stephen Banville pulled a point back for Wexford.

The Model County came right back into it and a dramatic late, injury-time goal from substitute Willie Doran of Buffer’s Alley made it 1-14 to 0-16 in their favour.

Bourke landed a leveller for Declan Ryan’s men, whose campaign finishes on a low note. But this was a magnificent day for Wexford.

Tipperary: B Cummins; E Connolly, P Maher, P Stapleton; D Young, C O’Mahony, J Coghlan; J Woodlock (0-3), S McGrath; B Dunne, N McGrath; B Dunne, N McGrath (0-2), S Carey (0-1); M Heffernan (0-1), P Bourke (0-6, 0-3 frees, 0-1 65), J O’Brien (0-4). Subs: G Ryan for S McGrath (36 mins inj.), J O’Keeffe for S Carey (57 mins), J O’Neill for M Heffernan (62 mins).

Wexford: Niall Breen (Tara Rocks) Paul Roche (Oulart-The Ballagh), Matthew O’Hanlon (St. James’), Keith Rossiter (Oulart-The Ballagh), Lar Prendergast (Oulart-The Ballagh), Darren Stamp, Capt. (Oulart-The Ballagh) Ciarán Kenny (Buffers Alley) David Redmond (Oulart-The Ballagh) Eoin Quigley (Sarsfields, Cork), PJ Nolan 0-1 (Askamore),  Harry Kehoe 0-1 (Cloughbawn), Stephen Banville 0-1  Shelmaliers, Rory Jacob 0-4 (Oulart-The Ballagh),  Garrrett Sinnott 0-1 (Oulart-The Ballagh),  Jim Berry 0-5, 0-3 frees (Faythe Harriers). Subs: Colm Farrell 0-1 (HWH Bunclody) for E Quigley , Brendan Doyle (Glynn-Barntown) for G Sinnott , Willie Doran 1-0 (Buffers Alley) for H Kehoe, Nicky Kirwan (Oulart-The Ballagh) for J Berry , Michael Jacob (Oulart-The Ballagh) for PJ Nolan (72 mins).