Horeswood host 2011 Sevens

2011 Horeswood Sevens

Horeswood GAA will host their second annual Seven a side football tournament on Saturday 4th June 2011.

The tournament will run over one day this year and, once again, 16 teams will compete for the Cup and Shield.

Participating teams include former All Ireland champions, Nemo Rangers, from Cork and former Leinster Champions, Portlaoise. Also, challenging will be the current holders Graiguecullen, managed by former Wexford boss Paul Bealin. Last year’s finalists Arles/Kilcruise, Gaultier (Waterford) and Mount Leinster Rangers (Carlow).

Wexford will be represented by Horeswood, St.James, Gusserane, Adamstown, Starlights, Shelmaliers and Sarsfields.

Azzurri will again be sponsoring the tournament with a €500 voucher for the winners of the cup and a €250 voucher for the shield winners.

Teams will be divided into four groups of four with the top two teams in each group qualifying for the Cup and the third and fourth placed teams vying for the Shield. Games will then proceed on a knockout basis. The first game throws in at 11.30 am and the final will take place at 7.30 pm. Each game will be sixteen minutes in duration. Admission for the day is €5.

For full details of the day’s schedule please go to

 A barbecue, beer tent, shop and an Azzurri stall will operate throughout the day.

The Remedees will provide live music and a DJ set on Saturday night from 9.30 pm till late and admission is €5.

We look forward to seeing you all.


From left: Leigh O’Brien, P.J. Banville, Jamie Osborne (Sales Development Manager, Azzurri Sports), John Kenny (Chairman, Horeswood G.A.A. Club), Ciaran Deely, Darren O’Reilly (Chairman, Horeswood Sevens).