Portaloise win 2011 Horeswood Sevens

Craig Rogers (Portlaoise) Player of The Tournament with Horeswood

Chairman  Horeswood John Kenny with Craig Rogers (Portlaoise) Player of The Tournament at the 2011 Sevens Final in  Horeswood

Horeswood Secretary Stephen O’Connor with Sarsfields (Shield Winners)

Cup and €500 Azzurri Sports voucher. Fielding a very strong squad,

including former county players Colm Parkinson, Ian Fitzgerald, Kevin

Fitzpatrick and Craig Rogers, they goaled from a penalty in the dying

seconds to beat the host team Horeswood by a point, on a scoreline of

2-5 to 1-7.

 The quarter final stages, in particular, produced some great games

with Portlaoise beating Nemo Rangers (Cork), Arles/Kilcruise (Laois)

beating Mount Leinster Rangers (Carlow), Graigucullen (Laois) beating

Gusserane and Horeswood coming out on top against Rhode (Offaly).

The semi-finals saw Portlaoise triumph over Graiguecullen, finishing

5-11 to 2-6 and Horeswood beating Arles/Kilcruise 6-7 to 2-4.

The shield final was an all Wexford affair with Sarsfields claiming

the €250 Azzurri voucher, when they beat Starlights.

 Congratulations also to Craig Rogers who won the player of the

tournament award.

Huge praise must go to the players of all teams, who deliverd some

very high quality football throughout the day in what were very

physically demanding conditions.

Horeswood Gaa club would like to thank all the particiapting teams who

made it such a fantastic day of football.

Thanks must also go to the members of the various organisations within

the club who provided huge levels of support out on the day and in the

weeks leading up to the tournament.

The results from the quarter finals on are

Portlaoise 3-6 Nemo Rangers 2-4

Arles/Kilcruise 3-6 Mount Leinster Rangers 1-9

Graiguecullen 1-6 Gusserane 0-7

Horeswood 0-14 Rhode 2-7

Portlaoise 5-11 Graiguecullen 1-6

Horeswood 6-7 Arles/Kilcruise 2-4

Portlaoise 2-5 Horeswood 1-7

Sarsfields beat Starlights by 3-5 to 2-6 in the Shield final.