Allianz Rackard League Finals to be played in Wexford Park

The Rackard League season will reach its climax this week with four finals to be played in Wexford Park.

 Tuesday 14th  at 6.30 will see the Allianz Roinn C Camogie Final between Castletown and Ballindaggin. This has been a great year for the Gorey district girls as they have already captured the Roinn C football title earlier this year. Cait Kavanagh, Cait O’Shaughnessy, Hannan Firh, Aoife Kenny and Caoimhe Molloy are among the many fine performers they have had this year. Team work, skill and determination have characterised this Ballindaggin team and they continue the excellent tradition of gaelic games from the area.

The Allianz Roinn C Hurling is on at 7.45 and sees Crossabeg take on Oylgate in a mouth watering derby match. Both these teams have contested the Roinn C Final in recent years and it is a testament to the great work being carried on in the schools and clubs that they are back in the final again. Crossabeg tasted success already this year in securing the Roinn C football title and the same teamwork and skill was in evidence in their march to the final especially overcoming Castletown in the semi final on a scoreline of 5-3 to 1-0. Oylgate have come close on a number of occasions and will be looking to further fine performances from the likes of Liam Stamp, Damien Reck and Tommy O’Rourke  who all excelled in their semi final win over Ramsgrange.

Wednesday 15th sees the final two Rackard League Finals of the year. At 6.30 old rivals Gorey CBS and Piercestown go head to head in the Allianz Roinn A Final. These schools have dominated the Roinn A grade in recent years and met in the football final earlier this year with Gorey coming out on top. However Piercestown did take the spoils in the recent mini sevens finals so this should be another close encounter. Gorey have a solid team whose close marking and tackling is exemplified by Seamus O’Donnell, Cillian Donohoe Jack Cushe and Eoin Molloy.  Forwards Charlie McGuckin, Tiernan Doyle and Eddie O’Brien Murphy are all well capable of taking their scores and they showed plenty of character in seeing off Cushinstown after extra time in the semi final. Piercestown have been very impressive in their march to the final and saw off St.Senan’s in the semi final with a surge in the final quarter. Conor Firman, Calum Quirke, cousins Barry and Rory O’Connor, Kyle Firman and Michael Codd have all caught the eye in a strong skilful team.

The Allianz Roinn B Final throws in at 7.45 with Taghmon taking on Rathangan. This should be a real cracker with both teams recording big wins in the semi finals against Kilmuckridge and Ferns respectively. Rathangan have the Allianz Roinn B Football title under their belt already and have had excellent performers in Ben Moore, Finn O’Driscoll, Ian Bennett, Andy Kennedy and Brian Kavanagh. Taghmon, who have been going from strength to strength in recent years, have been well served by Shane Doyle, Johnny Murphy, David and Stephen O’Keeffe, Alex Gondard, Darren Hayden and Shane Lacey.

The Rackard League would like to thanks all the teachers, parents, referees, clubs, County Board and especially the players for the smooth running of this years competitions. The committee would also wish Mick Kinsella well in his retirement and thank him for the development of coaching in the county over the years and wish his Dave Guiney every success as he takes up the role.