Allianz Rackard League Camogie Wins for Rathnure and Craanford


Wexford Park was the venue for the Rackard

League Roinn A and B Camogie Finals last Tuesday 31st May 2011

 The Roinn A Final saw Piercestown take on last year’s Champions, Rathnure

Rathnure 2-3 Piercestown 1-4

Prior to the game both teams lined up to shake hands with their opponents. Referee, Dickie Murphy threw in the ball and it was Rathnure who were first on the attack with Oonagh Doyle sending a great pass into the forward line.  Nora Higgins who was brilliant throughout was unlucky to drive the ball wide.  It wasn’t long before Piercestown were on the attack with Ciara O’Connor, Emma Codd and Sarah O’Connor combining before the ball eventually went wide of the goal.  After ten minutes of play, it was Piercestown’s Áine Ennis who was first to register a score with a fine point.  Rathnure, however began to exert pressure and after one shot being saved by goalie Tara Doyle, Andrea Creane saw her second attempt end up in the back of the net.  Shortly after, Rathnure were unlucky not to score another goal following a great pass from Aoife Guiney to Sive O’Bolguidhir which ended up being saved by the crossbar.  Piercestown now began to dominate, scoring three times without reply.  Mary Barrett found the net before Sarah O’Connor scored a wonderful point, despite losing her footing.  Rathnure did have a few more chances in the first half but Bronagh Whitty, Grainne Shirley and Lauren Kavanagh made some fine clearances.  It was Piercestown who had the final score of the first half with a point from Emma Whelan, leaving Piercestown ahead by three points.

Piercestown’s Catriona Sinnott was first to the ball in the second half but it was

Rathnure who were first off the mark with Leanne Foley putting the ball over the bar following a great solo run up the pitch.  Rathnure now had a very good passage of play, scoring a further 1-2 without reply.  Nora Higgins and Ava Conran scored two fine points with Oonagh Doyle lobbing a free over goalie Tara Doyle’s head into the corner of the net.  With 12 mins remaining, Rathnure were ahead by a goal.  Piercestown worked very hard to reduce the margin with Lara Conran in the Rathnure goal saving a shot from Lucy McGuinness.  Following this, Sarah O’Connor who played very well throughout scored a point to leave just two points between the teams.  Laura Barron, Neamh Smith and Rhys Hogan did very well despite being under pressure from Piercestown who tried hard to get another score.  Emma Codd and Orla and Mary Barrett worked very well but were unlucky to see their final effort going wide of the post.

Following the match, Rathnure Captain Leanne Foley, who played magnificently throughout the match, received the cup from Rackard League Secretary Jim Dempsey.

Piercestown:     Tara Doyle, Lauren Kavanagh, Bronagh Whitty, Gráinne Shirley, Sarah O’Connor, Ciara O’Connor, CatrIona Sinnott, Emma Codd, Aine Ennis, Mary Barrett, Emma Whelan, Lucy McGuinness, Orla Barrett, Katie Clarke, Ella O’Connor, Lettie Whelan, Sarah Geoff, Nicola Roche, Katie Nolan, Becky Hamilton, Jodie Rochford

Rathnure:          Lara Conran, Laura Barron, Leanne Foley, Neamh Smith, Ashlynn O’Leary, Rhys Hogan, Oonagh Doyle, Ava Conran, Aoife Guiney, Nóra Higgins, Sive O’Bolguidhir, Andrea Creane, Leah Butler, Aoife Kehoe, Tara Murphy, Aisling Breen, Aine Moore, Katie Lennon, Jackie Barron, Lilian O’Connor

Craanford Girls had a great victory over Castlebridge in Roinn B Final

Craanford 2-0 Castlebridge 0-1

Craanford girls had a remarkable victory over Castlebridge in the Rackard League Roinn B Camogie Final in Wexford Park on Tuesday last.  Craanford were victorious in the C Final last year and managed to win the B title at their first attempt.  Meanwhile Castlebridge were contesting their second final in a row, having been beaten by Bannow last year. 

From the start Craanford went on the attack with Emma Poole striking a great free into the full forward line.  Amy Kelly did very well to get her hurl to it and bat it into the net.  This first score came in the first minute but it was to be the only score of the half.

Some great defensive work by both teams made it very difficult for forwards to score.  Craanford’s  Chealseay Kelly, Clodagh Kenny and Jenny Larkin looked threatening but were blocked well by a strong Castlebridge defence with fine clearances from Sarah Harding Kenny and Zoe O’Leary.  Castlebridge dominated the game for 15 minutes of the first half but were very unfortunate not to score at this stage.  Jessie Harding worked hard and gained possession but was unlucky not to score.  Despite many chances from frees, Castlebridge were unable to get on the scoreboard in the first half. Craanford defended very well with great clearances from Rebecca Fleming, Niamh Doyle and Síofra Doyle.  Having played with wind advantage Craanford were ahead by a goal at half time. 

Castlebridge were first to the ball in the second half, with Craanford’s Maia McGrath denying Sarah Harding Kenny a score.  Craanford doubled their score after 7minutes with Aoife Curran, who was brilliant throughout, sending a great ball into Jenny Larkin who finished it to the net.  Castlebridge’s Mikaela Lannigan was unlucky not to score with a free while Emma Poole’s attempt went wide at the other end of the field.  Rebecca Doran in the Craanford goal denied Jessie Harding a goal with a brilliant save.  Elenor Lacey was brought out of the Castlebridge goal and replaced by Jamie Devereux who made some good saves.  Elenor scored a point for Castlebridge with two minutes remaining.  Larah Campell tried for another Castlebridge score as time ran out but was denied by Craanford’s Chloe Ronan.   Both teams played their hearts out and Castlebridge were unfortunate to have two injuries – Jennifer Murphy and Sarah Harding Kenny.

After the match, Jenny Larkin received the Rackard League Roinn B cup to great cheers from the Craanford supporters.

Castlebridge:    Elenor Lacey, Sadbh McCarthy, Sinead Ronan John, Sarah Harding Kenny, Zoe O’Leary, Larah Campell, Siobhan Doolan, Jenifer Murphy, Jessie Harding, Kara Doyle, Mikaela Lannigan, Jamie Devereux, Hannah Scully, Jean Dwyer, Rebecca Carter, Chloe Mythen, Thea Kehoe, Caitlin Malone, Amy Gainfort, Ciara Forde,  Abbie Gaynor, Aoife Fielding, Fiona Kinsella

Craanford:        Rebecca Doran, Chloe Ronan, Rebecca Fleming, Maia McGrath, Siofra Doyle, Niamh Doyle, Aoife Curran, Emma Poole, Clodagh Kenny, Chealseay Kelly, Amy Kelly, Jenny Larkin, Katie Smyth, Emer Kavanagh, Aoife Ronan, Grace O’Halloran, Orla Montague, Emma O’Hara, Ruth Berney