Cumann na mBunscol Rounders Report

Thirty two teams from twenty two schools took part in this year’s Cumann na mBunscol Rounders Competitions. Teams were divided into five divisions. Piercestown won the Boys Roinn A division when they defeated Adamstown 39-15 in the final in Taghmon GAA field recently. Adamstown started this game strongly and led 5-3 after the first innings. Piercestown then asserted themselves and took the lead which they held until the end. Man of the Match for Piercestown was Conor Firman while Liam Stafford played very well for Adamstown.
Piercestown: Adam Cantwell, Stephen Doyle, Michael Codd, Barry O’Connor,
Peter Barry, Conor Firman, Jack Devereux, Rory O’Connor, Ciarán Dunne (Capt), Ciarán Mahon, Josh Byrne, Gerald Doyle.
Adamstown: Aaron O’Brien, Ryan Carthy Walsh, Liam Stafford, Conor O’Gorman, JP Furlong, Sebastian Ievan, Seán Hynes, Seánie O’Neill, Jack Power.
Piercestown completed a Roinn A double when their girls defeated Raheen 29-26 after a great game. There were never more than a couple of runs in this game. Piercestown led early on but Raheen had a great fourth innings to lead by 22-18 as they faced into the final innings. Piercestown now had a great innings, scoring eleven runs, leaving Raheen a target of 29. They scored four but were eventually all out when Áine Ennis caught a great ball off the Raheen bat. Áine Ennis and Lauren Kavanagh starred for the winners while Tara Doyle, Oonagh Murphy and Róisín Stephenson played brilliantly for Raheen.
Piercestown: Orlaith Barrett, Áine Ennis, Katie Clarke, Sarah O’Connor, (Capt), Lauren Kavanagh, Lucy McGuinness, Mary Barrett, Tara Doyle, Sarah Goff, Rebecca Hamilton, Clare Moran, Megan Carty, Emma Whelan.
Raheen: Tara Doyle, Eimear Mernagh, Caoimhe Doyle, Oonagh Murphy, Róisín Stephenson, Jasmine Martin, Nicole McDonald, Kayleigh Dunne, Rachel Buckley (Capt). Poulfur won the Roinn B Girls final when they defeated Mercy Wexford 31-17 in the final played in Piercestown. Mercy Wexford led 17-13 going into the final innings. Poulfur then turned the game on its head when they scored a mmagnificent 18 runs and put out the Mercy girls for nothing. What a way to win their first county title! Mary O’Donoghue played very well for the winners while the catching of Elizabeth Connors for Mercy Wexford was outstanding.
Poulfur: Mary O’Donoghue, Hannah Trainor, Gillian Barry, Siobhán Rowe,Isobel Auld, Kayleigh Shannon, Megan Murphy, Chloe Waters, Lydia Hickey.
Mercy Wexford: Emily Kelly, Niamh Buckley, Amy Quigley, Sarah Murphy, Gaille Panjarito, Ciara O’Riordan, Amy Ryan, Elizabeth Connors, Chloe Farrell, Ciara Cantwell, Ciara Rafter, Ciara Cullinane. The Boys Roinn B county title went to Oylegate who defeated Kennedy Park 20-19 in the most exciting final of the season. Oylegate led this game narrowly from start to finish but Kennedy Park deserve huge credit for their brave performance. Damien Reck starred for Oylegate while Graham Scallan was outstanding for Kennedy Park.
Oylegate: Damien Reck, Adam Shanahan, Lee Kehoe, Cian McDonald, Tommy
O’Rourke, Cormac Quirke, Evan Kelly, Michael Kinsella Shiggins, Richard Murphy, Mike Kelly, Jack Reck.
Kennedy Park: Thomas McGuinness,Danny Walsh, Graham Scallan, Enda Dyle,
Michael Bent, Lee Whelan, Ethan Lahiff, Dylan Furlong, Marco Fleck.
The Mixed Final, which features teams from small schools who play with at least four boys and four girls on their team, saw Ballyhogue triumph over Ballyroebuck by 18 runs to 8. This was a most skilful game which saw Ballyroebuck take an early 5-2 lead. Ballyhogue scored 9 runs in their third innings and never looked back. Liam Rossiter and Aideen Byrne shone for the winners while Ballyroebuck’s Joseph Tobin and Helen Doran were outstanding.
Ballyhogue: Nicole Furlong, Liam Rossiter, Quintin Furlong, Jack Reilly,
Kyle Butler, Kathlyn Furlong, Kate McVeigh, Aideen Byrne, Conor Rossiter, Chris Byrne, Peter Doyle, Shauna D’Arcy.
Ballyroebuck: John Fortune, Alanna Hill, Niall Maher, Jack Kehoe, John
Kavanagh, Helen Doran, Joseph Tobin, Lisa Fortune, Kieran Kenny, Niamh Walsh, Liam Butler, Mairéad O’Rourke.

All the finals were refereed by Fiona Hayes who did a great job.