Rackard League Summer Blitz


The annual Rackard League Summer Hurling Blitz was played in brilliant sunshine at the Enniscorthy Astro Turf Centre on Tuesday last. This event, now in its seventh year, is going from strength to strength. It gives a unique opportunity for children with special needs to represent their schools in a sporting occasion. This year  St. Aidan’s and St.Senan’s sent teams of boys and girls to compete in the blitz. This is the third year that the event was held at the Astro Turf Centre and it proved to be an ideal setting for the children to show off their skills. The viewing area was an excellent vantage point for the many parents, teachers, special needs assistants and supporters to cheer on the budding hurlers. The Rackard League would like to thank all those involved for making it such a special day. All team members received gold medals and much needed refreshments after their exploits.

The Rackard League would like to thank Tomás Hyland, Mike O’Toole, Rhys Dunne and Cormac Walshe who umpired and refereed the matches and Dave Ryan and all the staff at the Astro Centre for making their facilities available.

The children who represented St.Senan’s were Sean Wolohan, Luke Stevenson, Nathan Goodall, Oisín Murphy, Liam Nolan, Seán Nolan, Mike O’Leary, Orrin Murphy, Nathan Fitzpatrick, Darack MacIomaire, Tom Connors, Louise O’Toole, Thomas Brennan, Brandon Somers, Conor West, Patrick Cowman and Anthony Halligan.

Lining out for St.Aidan’s were Brandon Kehoe, Natasha Cullen, Mellissa Kearns, Jenny O’Toole, Yvonne Moorehouse, Reece Kavanagh, Ian Quigley, Aoife Bradley, Gerry Connors, Larry Connors and Shanice O’Connor- Moorehouse.


In what was a very busy week for the Rackard League the Roinn C Shield blitz was held in Fr. Murphy Park on Wednesday last. Teams from St.Senan’s, Gealscoil I.C., Davidstown and Cushinstown took part. After a series of league matches St.Senan’s and Cushinstown met in the final with  St.Senan’s emerging as winners. Many thanks to all concerned.

Submitted by Seamus Kavanagh (PRO Rackard League)