Wexford announce U21 Bord Gais Energy team v Kilkenny


The Wexford U21 Bord Gais Energy Leinster GAA Hurling team to play Kikenny on Tuesday night 7th June has been announced.  Tony Dempsey and his management team have named ten of last year’s starting U21 team who played Dublin in the Leinster Final.  Senior hurling team members Matthew O’Hanlon and Harry Kehoe fill the full-back and centre-field roles respectively.  Michael O’Regan and Liam Óg McGovern also have inter-county senior experience playing with the Senior football team.  James Breen, who captained the U21 Football team to its first ever Leinster success is named at full-forward.  Wexford will be hoping that good home support in Wexford Park should get them over this first hurdle in the 2011 championship.

Wexford: (U21 v Kilkenny): Mark Fanning (Capt.). 2. Willie Devereux, 3. Matthew O’Hanlon, 4. Eoin Moore, 5. Michael O’Regan, 6. Andrew Shore, 7. Shaun Murphy, 8. Emmet Kent, 9. Harry Kehoe, 10. Shane Tomkins, 11. John Leacy, 12. Liam Óg McGovern, 13. Paul Morris, 14. James Breen, 15. Pádraig Doran.


Conor O’Leary, Oulart-The Ballagh

Ian Byrne, Ferns-St. Aidan’s

Pádraig Donnelly, Glynn-Barntown 

Rory Sludds, Oylegate-Glenbrien

Patrick Nolan, Askamore

James Gahan, Ballygarrett

Pádraig Farrell, Faythe Harriers

Jamie Reck, Oylegate-Glenbrien

Mark Maloney, St. Martin’s

Extended Panel

Billy Nolan (Askamore). Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St. Anne’s), Mark Furlong (St. Anne’s), Fintan Mullins (Our Lady’s Island), Tommy Storey (Oulart-The Ballagh), Patrick Boggan (Askamore), Jack Kelly (Rapparees), Benny Barron (Shelmaliers), Michael O’Hanlon (Horeswood