Best year ever for Kent Stainless Steel U10 Football


The Kent Stainless Steel under 10 Football competition is now winding up after the biggest number of entries ever. Well done to all the teams on the superb football they have been playing over the last two months.
The Gorey District is completely finalised and the clubs there deserve great credit for sticking so well to the schedule. The finals were played in Naomh Éanna’s pitch last Wednesday night and Shay Keevans from the Gusserane club was on hand to present the cups and medals.

There was some wonderful skills on display and a special well done to Buffers Alley as it was their first time entering the competition and they duly brought home the cup. The finals went as follows:
A.    Naomh Eanna 1  beat Réalt na Mara
B.    Craanford  beat  St Patrick’s       
C.    Kilanerin 2    beat  Castletown 1  
D.    Buffers Alley  beat Kilanerin 1
E.    Kilrush/Askamore beat  Naomh Éanna 2 
Four of the five finals in the New Ross district have been played to date. The eagerly awaited Gusserane V Horeswood A final is scheduled to take place this coming Wednesday in Horeswood. The pick of the finals so far was the Bannow/Ballymitty versus Adamstown game where a couple of late Bannow scores saw the sea-siders snatch victory by a single point. Paudie Foran from the Gusserane club was on hand to present the cups and medals. Eight clubs also had second teams in the New Ross district and following their games, these teams were divided in to two groups of four to compete in 2 blitzes. The first of these blitzes took place in Grantstown on Saturday 20th where a feast of football was enjoyed. The second blitz will take place in Gusserane next Saturday. The New Ross district results are as follows:
A.    Gusserane v Horeswood (Wed 24th Aug)
B.    Rathgarogue- Cushinstown beat St James’
C.    Taghmon- Camross beat Fethard
D.    Bannow- Ballymitty beat Adamstown
E.    Clongeen beat Geraldine O’Hanrahans
Blitz 1   Gusserane/Horeswood/Taghmon- Camross/Rathgarogue Cushinstown will play in Gusserane at 10.30am on Sat 27th August
Blitz 2   St James (Winners), Adamstown, Bannow/Ballymitty and Clongeen.
The Enniscorthy District will see three of its four finals take place in Bree on Wednesday 24th August. They are as follows:
A.    Ballyhogue v Starlights at 7pm
B.    HWH Bunclody v Duffry Rovers at 7.30pm
C.    Cloughbawn v Davidstown-Courtnacuddy (To Be Arranged)
D.    Ferns-St. Aidan’s v Marshalstown-Castledockrell at 6.45pm.
Final placings for the Wexford District will be available shortly with many of the finals hopefully taking place on Wednesday 31st August.