Scór na nÓg semi-finals a great success


The past weekend was a busy one for Scór Loch Garman, with the Scór na nÓg County semi-finals taking place in Rathangan and Oulart.  On Friday night, clubs from the New Ross and Wexford Districts competed in Rathangan Hall.  Clubs represented were St. Anne’s Rathangan, Bannow Ballymitty, Rathgarogue Cushinstown, Gusserane O’Rahillys, Naomh Abbain Adamstown and Ballyhogue.   The first competition of the night was the Figure Dancing and the girls from Ballyhogue gave a wonderful performance and qualified for the County Final.  Ballyhogue represented the Enniscorthy District but danced on Friday night as they were unable to attend on Saturday.  The solo-singing competition involved Celine Furlong- Hunt and Aisling Staples from St. Anne’s, Cheyanne O’Farrell representing Gusserane O’Rahillys and Rabecca Stafford, Leona Reville and Kayleigh Moran from Bannow-Ballymitty.  Kayleigh Moran and Leona Reville were the qualifiers in this competition and will represent their club, Bannow Ballymitty in the County Final.

The third competition of the night was the Instrumental Music.  There was a very high standard in this competition with clubs Bannow-Ballymitty, Naomh Abbain, Adamstown and Rathgarogue Cushinstown competing.  First on stage were Bannow A- Anna Harpur, Córa Bennett, Kiera Reville, Saoirse Treacy and Cian O’Grady.  These young musicians played a lively jig and reel on banjo, fiddle, flute, concertina and accordion.  Naomh Abbain, Adamstown were next with Evan, Sinéad and Diarmuid Murphy, Sarah O’Brien and Ciarán English giving a wonderful performance of the Mist Covered Mountain and the Kilmaley Reel.  Following this Bannow-Ballymitty B performed the Bridge Jig and the Copperplate Reel.  Representing Bannow were Jon Reville, Tom Reville, Michael Martin, Shelly O’Grady and Louise Colfer.  The final group on stage represented Rathgarogue-Cushinstown.  Aidan, Rebecca and Emmet O’Sullivan- Ryan and Grace and Hope Barron gave a lovely rendition of Gallagher’s Frolics and the Wedding Reel.  Bannow-Ballymitty B and Rathgarogue Cushinstown qualified for the county final in the Ceol Uirlise competition.

Gusserane’s, Eimear Lacey was the sole competitor in the recitation competition and she gave a great performance of McCarthy’s Dream.  Bannow-Ballymitty entered three Ballad Groups with all performing very well.  First on stage were Bannow A’s  Daniel Wickham, Leona O’Grady, Johanna Walsh and Rebecca Stafford who gave a lovely performance of  I’ll tell me Ma and Brian O’Linn.  Following this John Harpur, Cathal Cummins, Kate Cullen, Kayleigh Moran and Niamh Colfer (Bannow-Ballymitty B) performed The Neamstown Shore and Peigín Leitir Mór.  The final ballad group, Michael Martin, Louise Colfer, Melanie Carthy and Leona Reville (Bannow-Ballymitty C) sang Mandela and Téir Abhaile ‘rú.  Here Bannow B and Bannow C qualified for the County Final.  The final competition of the night was the Novelty Act and representing Bannow Ballymitty were John, Louise and Joanne Colfer, Clem and Jane Rossiter, Tom Reville and Melanie Carthy.  They will also represent Bannow in the next round of the competition.

Great entertainment was provided in Oulart Hall on Saturday evening.  This semi-final involved the Enniscorthy and Gorey Districts.  Clubs involved were Oulart-The Ballagh, Naomh Éanna Gorey, Ballygarrett Réalt na Mara and Cloughbawn.  Four categories were  included- Solo-singing, Instrumental Music, Recitation and Ballad Group.  Solo-singers on the night were Edward O’Dowd from Oulart the Ballagh, Amy Hogan, Stephanie Kinsella and Ailbhe Cummins from Cloughbawn.  There was a very high standard in this competition with Amy Hogan and Stephanie Kinsella qualified for the County Final.  In the Instrumental Music there were nine groups, seven from the home club of Oulart-The Ballagh and one each from Ballygarrett Réalt na Mara and Naomh Éanna Gorey.  Oulart were represented by Áine Sheridan, Niamh Sinnott, Saoirse Dunne, Louise Royce, Mairéad O’Brien, Sabrina Kehoe, Aoife Dunne, Katie Roche, Sophie Rossiter, Luke O’Driscoll, John Roche, Siobhán Sinnott, Pierce Redmond, Lorcan Nimmo, Aisling Murphy, Aileen Quigley, Katie O’Brien, Linda Murphy, Niamh Dempsey, Regina Prendergast, Grace Murphy and Maura Molloy.  Ballygarrett Réalt na Mara’s musicians were Cathal Lee, Kate O’Loughlin, Jordan Redmond, Róisín O’Connor and Aisling Kelly.  Representing Naomh Éanna Gorey were Róisín Rooney, Aoibheann Doyle, Lorna Cushe, Aideen Byrne and Hilda Browne.  Naomh Éanna and Ballygarrett qualified to represent their district in the County Final. 

All three recitations were recommended to go forward to the next round of the competition with Brónagh Hogan representing Cloughbawn, Sabrina Kehoe, Oulart-The Ballagh and Michael Dwyer, Naomh Éanna.  The final competition of the night was the Ballad Group and clubs participating were Naomh Éanna and Oulart-The Ballagh.  Both groups gave a lovely performance and qualified for the County Final. Naomh Éanna representatives were Róisín Rooney, Lorna Cushe, Aoibheann Doyle, Aideen Byrne and Hilda Browne.  Meanwhile the local club was represented by Tessa Crosbie, Chloe Dempsey, Áine Lyndon, Katie Roche and Louisa Royce.

The question time (teams of 3) will take place in Bellfield G.A.A. complex on Friday next 25th November at 7.30pm.

County Final takes place in Oulart Hall on Friday 2nd December at 7.30pm.

Leinster Semi-Final will be held  in Carnew, Co. Wicklow on Saturday 10th November at 3pm.