Annual GAA Convention

The Annual GAA Convention takes place tomorrow night Monday 12th December at 7pm. in the Ferrycarrrig Hotel at 7pm.  It is important that all delegates arrive early to ensure that the meeting proceeds at the appointed time.  

This year a number of contests will take place with the most keenly contest being the Chairman’s seat with Diarmuid Devereux (St. Patrick’s) and Denis Nolan (Taghmon-Camross) both having their eyes set on this role. Denis and Diarmuid having held the position of Coiste na nÓg Chairman and following a very comprehensive campaign, the final count is expected to be very close.  

Outgoing Chairman, Ger Doyle and current Central Council Rep. will also lock horns to see who will represent Wexford at central level for the coming year.

Outgoing PRO, Mary Foley having served her five years, will be stepping down and three people are nominated – Mary Doyle, Mary O’Reilly and current Vice-Chairman, Rory Murphy.

Breda Jacob (Oulart-The Ballagh) and current Oifigeach na Gaeilge Tony Dempsey will also compete for the role of Irish & Cultural Officer. 

Everyone is looking forward to a successful Convention and best wishes to one and all.  

Loch Garman Abú!!