Supporters Club AGM 2012

New Supporters Club Chairman

The AGM of Wexford Supporters Club was held tonight (March 27th) in The Riverside Park Hotel.

Out going Chairman, Jim Byrne, gave a detailed account on all the activities held during 2011.  Over €100,000 was spent on Gaelic Games promotion during the year.

Jim stood down from the position of Chairman after two very successful years involved. He thanked all the sub committees involved in fundraising for the Supporters Club and making it such a successful asset to Gaelic Games in Wexford.

Mary Nolan Treasurer gave the financial report and she is also stepping down from her role. While Secretary Mary Kennedy, who remains in her post for another year, read the minutes of last years AGM.

Sub committee reports were given by : Denis Nolan; Des Coke; Sean Quirke; Tom Doyle; and Bill Mernagh. County Camogie Manager JJ Doyle addressed the AGM as did Michael O Neill on behalf of Ladies football and GAA County Board Chairman Diarmuid Devereux.

Arthur Quinn (pictured) was elected as the new Chairman of the Supporters Club. Havng grown up beside Nickey Rackard and being brought to his first game , The Famous 1955 ‘WINDY’ League Final when Wexford overturned a 15 point half time deficit to take the title, Arthur has had a long time love for Wexford GAA.

He pledged that his time time in office would endeavour to maximise all efforts to fund raise in support of our teams, to maintain the success of our Camogie and Fooball teams and bring hurling back to its glory days.