Wexford hurling team announced!

The Wexford team to play Laois, this Sunday 1st of April in Bellefield has been named and sees, as expected a significant number of changes as the management use the game to experiment and develop the team. Éanna Martin comes back into goal, while Willie Devereux, Paul Morris and Eoin Moore all make their starting league debuts. The stalwart Oulart man, Paul Roche returns and comes in at full back while Richie Kehoe slots into a more familiar half back role.  Diarmuid ‘Gizzy’ Lyng makes his first start having come on late in the defeat to Clare, making a positive impression on the scoreboard.  Lyng is joined in the half forward line by John Leacy and Harry Kehoe.

It could be said that this game is meaningless as both teams are already consigned to a relegation playoff on the 15th of April, but Wexford will be looking for a strong performance and a positive response to the Clare and Limerick defeats and Laois manager, Teddy McCarthy, will be looking to build on his sides impressive, but heartbreaking narrow loss to Antrim last weekend.

Supporters will be hoping that the new comers will make an impact and further increase the competition for places in Liam Dunne’s starting 15. Other than the new faces in the team, the biggest talking point has been the move of Matthew O’Hanlon to midfield, a position that he is familiar with in football but not in hurling. The experimentation continues and with move to Enniscorthy – due to pitch maintenance in Wexford Park – a good crowd is expected  to attend and will the lads on.  The game throws in at 2.30pm.

  1. Eanna Martin
  2. Willie Devereux
  3. Paul Roche
  4. Eoin Moore
  5. Richie Kehoe
  6. Darren Stamp  Captain.
  7. Ciaran Kenny
  8. Matthew O’Hanlon
  9. Eoin Quigley
  10. Harry Kehoe
  11. John Leacy
  12. Diarmuid Lyng
  13. Paul Morris
  14. Jack Guiney
  15. Rory Jacob
  16. Mark Fanning
  17. Bobby Kenny
  18. James Tonks
  19. Shaun Murphy
  20. Jonathan Fogarty
  21. Ian Byrne
  22. PJ Nolan
  23. Stephen Banville
  24. Diarmuid O’Keeffe