Scór Logo

Scór na nÓg County Final

Scór na nÓg County Final took place in Oulart Hall on Saturday night last and great entertainment was on offer.  The first competition of the night saw Kayleigh Moran, Bannow Ballymitty give a beautiful rendition of Lough Sheelin Side.  Ten year old Kayleigh accompanied herself on harp.  Stephanie Kinsella, Cloughbawn, who recently performed in Wexford Opera Festival confidently performed Siúl a Rúin.  The final competitor of the night was Caitlin Hassey, Ferns-St. Aidan’s who sang a local song – The Streams of Bunclody.  
Instrumental Music competition involved Naomh Éanna, Oulart the Ballagh, Bannow Ballymitty and Rathgarogue Cushinstown.  Naomh Éanna were represented by Róisín Rooney, Lorna Cushe, Aoibheann Doyle, Aideen Byrne and Hilda Browne.  Competitors from Bannow Ballymitty were Cian O’Grady, Anna Harpur, Jane Rossiter, Callie Bennett and Kiera Reville.  Musicians representing Oulart the Ballagh were Niamh Sinnott, Aoife Dunne, Áine Sheridan, Katie Roche and Mel Swords.  Aidan, Rebecca & Emmet O’Sullivan Ryan and Grace and Hope Barron represented Rathgarogue Cushinstown.
Recitation was the next competition of the night.  Here Eimear Lacey, Gusserane performed an extract from Frank O’Connor’s The First Confesssion.  Brónagh Hogan, Cloughbawn recited Des Water’s The Auld Gael.  The Bannow Ballymitty competitors, Callie Bennett and Jane Rossiter both performed Philip Egan poems – The Power of Calamine Lotion and Making the Team.
Bannow Ballymitty had two entries in the Ballad Group Competition –  Michael Martin, Melanie Carthy, Leona Reville, Louise and Joanne Colfer, Anna Harpur, Mekaela Ffrench, Cian O’Grady, Callie Bennett and Jane Rossiter.  Naomh Éanna representatives were Hilda Browne, Aideen Byrne, Aoibheann Doyle, Lorna Cushe and Róisín Rooney.  Finally Oulart the Ballagh competitors were Linda Murphy, Aileen Quigley, Megan Jordan and Melisssa Rossiter.
Three teams took to the stage for the Question Time – Buffers Alley members were Muireann NicCorcráin, John Furlong, Leonard Lacey, Sorcha Foley, Darragh Kehoe and Niall Corrigan.  Cloughbawn’s competitors were Cian O’Connor, Lee Keeley and Robert Kinsella.
The final competition of the night was the Novelty Act.  Here Bannow Ballymitty were the only competitors and they provided  a humerous act about The Coming of Saorview – Louise, John, Joanne & Niamh Colfer, Clem & Jane Rossiter, Cian O’Grady and Sadhbh Kelly.
Those who qualified to represent Wexford in the Leinster Semi Final next Sunday at 3p.m. in O’Loughlin Gaels are as follows:
Solo-singing: Stephanie Kinsella,Cloughbawn
Instrumental Music: Rathgarogue Cushinstown
Recitation: Brónagh Hogan, Cloughbawn
Ballad Group: Naomh Éanna
Quiz: Buffers Alley A
Novelty Act: Bannow Ballymitty
We wish all competitors the very best in the Leinster Semi Final