Wexford Schools clinch win over Laois…

Wexford Schools………………………………………2-14
Laois Schools …………………………………………..1-14

The Wexford Schools team clinched their place in the last eight of the Leinster SHC ‘A’ championship following this teak tough victory over Laois Schools in the Group section final which required extra-time today in Rathdowney.WEX CC 2

The weather was awful but both teams served up a thriller. Wexford had a great start and with the benefit of the wind they built up a lead of 1-6 to nil after the first quarter.

Sean Stafford scored the goal after a pass from Billy Kelly and Kelly and Stafford also had points along with freetaker Alan Murphy (twice) and midfielder Nicky Lawlor.

Laois roared back into the match in the second half and had whittled down the Wexford lead to two points 1-9 to 0-10 with ten minutes to go and the home side levelled with the aid of goal from a sideline ball in the 55th minute (1-10 each).

Shane Murphy poked Wexford Schools in front with minutes left but a point from a Laois sideline ball sent the game into extra-time.

Wexford dominated the first half of extra-time when they had the advantage of the wind and the crucial score came from Alan Murphy when he goaled to give Wexford a 2-13 to 1-11 lead.

Laois ultimately couldn’t find a way past the Wexford defence for the goal they so badly needed so Wexford Schools advance to play Colaiste Eoin of Dublin in the quarter-final of the SHC ‘A’ championship where they will join Good Counsel College and St. Peter’s College.

Our thanks

Wexford GAA wish to thank and acknowledge the critical support of all the teachers and parents from the schools involved without whose huge support the combined team would not be possible.

Wexford Schools: Darragh Hughes (Gorey CS 0-1 free); Jason Redmond (Gorey CS), Evan Dunbar (Wexford CBS), Paul Larrissey (Enniscorthy CBS); Ollie Doran (Gorey CS), Philip Roche (New Ross VC), Michael O’Brien (Gorey CS, Capt.); Nicky Lawlor (Wexford CBS 0-1), Cathal Dunbar (Gorey CS); Alan Murphy (New Ross VC 0-6 frees), Joe Coleman (Wexford CBS 0-2), Shane Murphy (New Ross VC 1-1); Billy Kelly (FCJ Bunclody 0-2), Sean Stafford (Wexford CBS 1-1), Gearoid Cullen (Gorey CS).

Subs: Ciaran Kirwan (Wexford CBS) for Doran (42 mins), Stephen Kearney (Wexford CBS) for Cullen (HT in ET), Ben Edwards (Enniscorthy CBS) for Lawlor (72 mins).

Ref: Eamonn Mansfield (Kilkenny).