Heartbreaking Minor Defeat To The Hands Of Dublin

wexV Dub e


A point with the last puck of the game from substitute Eoin O Conghaile secured Dublin a place in this year’s Leinster MHC decider at the expense of Wexford in Parnell Park today.

The visitors had one foot in the decider when leading by a point with time almost up but Rian McBride levelled matters in the 60th minute before O Conghaile pounced for the winner.


It was hard luck on the Model County who would have fancied their chances of gaining revenge for the five-point defeat they suffered at the hands of Dublin in the first round when leading by 0-9 to 0-7 at the break.

Wexford were more economical in front of the posts during the opening 30 minutes and Joe Coleman led their charge with five pointed frees.

Sean Grey sent over four first half frees for the team in sky blue but Wexford extended their lead early in the second half thanks to white flags from Cathal Dunbar and Coleman (2).

As you would expect from a team that scored an 11-point quarter-final victory over Kilkenny, Dublin refused to throw in the towel and, with 15 minutes to go, they trailed by the narrowest of margins, 0-12 to 0-13.

The game went right down to the wire and Larry Coleman’s charges were denied by McBride and O Conghaile’s late heroics.

Dublin’s reward is a provincial final ticket against the the winners of the second semi-final between Laois and Kilkenny on Sunday, July 6th.  (Hogan Stand Wexford)

Dublin – J Treacy; M McCallion, S Barrett, D Butler; S Howard, J Malone, P O’Dea; D Burke, R McBride (0-3); S Grey (0-7f), E McHugh (0-2), C Bennett (0-1); C O’Callaghan (0-1), S Ryan, M Oliver. Subs: E Conroy (0-1) for M Oliver, E O Conghaile (0-2) for C Bennett, C O’Sullivan for D Burke, F De Fuitligh for S Ryan.

Wexford – D Hughes; B Edwards (0-1), M O’Brien, C Firman; N Rossiter (0-1), A Maddock, R White; C Dunbar (0-1), J Firman; J O’Connor, D Barden, N Hughes; D Pepper (0-2), J Coleman (0-10f), S Kelly (0-1). Sub: M Joyce for N Hug