Huge crowd in Oulart for Scór na nÓg

ScorHuge crowd in Oulart for Scór na nÓg
The second semi final of Scór na nÓg took place in Oulart Hall on Saturday 22nd November.  This was for clubs from the Gorey and Enniscorthy Districts.  Two clubs unable to attend the New Ross and Wexford district semi final on Friday night also competed.  Clubs represented on the night were Naomh Éanna, Cloughbawn, Oulart the Ballagh, Tara Rocks, Shelmaliers, St. Patrick’s, Rathgarogue Cushinstown, Blackwater, Réalt na Mara, Craanford, Castletown and Ferns.

The first competition of the night was the Figure Dancing with two groups from Naomh Éanna competing.  Both groups danced very well and qualified for the County Final.  The following girls danced for Naomh Éanna: Caroline’s Group: Caoimhe Kenny, Chloe O’Brien, Amy Doran, Ciara Black, Lauren Edwards, Gillian Hayes, Lauren Byrne, Eve Dunne.
Naomh Éanna Anne Marie’s Group: Leah O’Brien, Gabrielle Kavanagh, Áine Crowe, Niamh Fitzpatrick, Stacey Doyle, Donna Keegan, Agata Burak, Swetha Wickramaratne

Solo singing was the next competition with seven singers competing.  Edward O’Dowd represented the local Oulart Club, Eva O’Connor sang for Tara Rocks.  The next competitor was Shauna Kelly from Shelmaliers.  Following this Cormac Cooper from Cloughbawn performed.  Next to entertain the audience was Úna Maguire from St. Patrick’s.  Rathgarogue’s Alex Walsh was next to compete and Grace Murphy, Blackwater was the final competitor.  In the end it was Cormac Cooper, Cloughbawn and Grace Murphy, Blackwater who qualified for the County Final.

Tara O’Connor, Tara Rocks was the participant in the Recitation competition and also qualified for the County Final.

A record twenty two groups participated in the Instrumental Music Group with Réalt na Mara 2 and Craanford qualifying for the final.  Musicians that participated are as follows:
Shelmaliers County Hurling Champions: Kitty and Joshua Roche, Shane and Colm Kelly and Rian Ormonde
Cloughbawn: Darragh Doyle and Fenlon
Naomh Éanna Cáirde: Sadhbh Shiel, Éabha Chambers, Abbie O’Donoghue, Clíona Redmond, Niamh Byrne
Shelmalier’s Shels in Pink: Zara Corrigan, Niamh Hearne, Hannah Hearne, Aoife Cullen, Aoife Hearne
Oulart the Ballagh: Sarah Walsh, Molly Gallagher, Aisling Murphy
Réalt na Mara: Brian Lee, Emma Walsh, Ben Ivory, Caoimhe Quirke, Ellen O’Loughlin
Shelmalier’s Black and Amber: Abigail Gillen, Sophie Whelan, Lauren Rossiter, Nicole Gillen, Alan Neville
Craanford: Paddy Doyle, Molly Tobin, James Doyle, Fiona Doyle, Seán O’Callaghan
Shelmalier’s Sally Beechers: Katie Feeney, Conor Roche, Nicole Harding Kenny, Grace Harding Kenny, Daniel Ormonde
Blackwater: Maura Molloy and Grace Murphy
Naomh  Éanna: Caoimhe Browne, Síofra Kenny, Aoife Redmond, Eva O’Connor, Ciara Nolan
Shelmalier’s Bauld Shelmaliers: Aisling Feeney, Shauna Kelly, Alison and Peter Doyle
Rathgarogue Cushinstown: Charlie, Ellie, Olivia and Alex Walsh, Oisín Gaffney
Réalt na Mara 2: Cathal Lee, Cian Kenny, Seán Walsh, Áine Neary, Kate O’Loughlin
Oulart: Aileen Quigley, Naoise Ormonde, Niamh Mongan
Oulart: Shona Proctor Laird, Niamh Larkin Cooney, Faith Masterson
Naomh Éanna: Abbie Gibney, Romy Nolan, Holly Starr Smith, Deirdre Whitmore, Katlyn O’Connor
Oulart: Lorcan Nimmo, Declan Sinnott, Siobhan Sinnott
Naomh Éanna: Tara O’Connor, Tara Cushe, Leah O’Mahoney, Mollie Carroll, Lauren Purcell
Oulart: Daire and Mel Swords, Katie Roche, Sabrina Kehoe, Aoife Dunne
Ferns: Lisa Doran, Katie O’Toole, Oran Fitzpatrick and William Dunne
Castletown: Liam Coleman, Eoin Coleman, Cáit O’Shaughnessy, Órnaith O’Shaughnessy, Ciara Byrne

The final competition was the Ballad Group with groups from Naomh Éanna and Ferns taking part.  Ferns and Naomh Éanna, Spraoi qualified for the County Final
Naomh Éanna: Síofra Kenny, Aoife Redmond, Eva O’Connor, Caoimhe Browne, Ciara Nolan
Ferns: Lisa Doran, Katie O’Toole, Linda Murphy, Oran Fitzpatrick, William Dunne.

Naomh Éanna: Nian MacCormaic, Deirdre Whitmore, Romy Nolan, Megan O’Donoghue, Katlyn O’Connor

Naomh Éanna Spraoi: Tara O’Connor, Tara Cushe, Mollie Carroll, Lauren Purcell, Leah O’Mahoney.


Chairperson Aileen Kennedy thanked all involved with the successful running of the event – adjudicators, Scór Committee, Oulart Hall, participating clubs, parents, mentors, audience and competitors.  Following this,  Bean an Tí, Breda Jacob announced the results and informed the audience that the County Final takes place on Saturday 29th November at 7.30p.m. in Oulart.  Quiz (Teams of 4) takes place in Glynn Barntown G.A.A. Complex at 7.30p.m. on Thursday 27th November.