Scór Finals incl. Quiz.

The Scór na nÓg table quiz took place in Glynn Barntown G.A.A. Complex on Thursday last.  Five clubs took part in this with reigning Champions St. Mary’s Rosslare taking the title once again.  The team of Philip Lambert, David McDonald, Manus Harte and Andrew O’Connor will represent Wexford in the All Ireland Final.  Also taking part on the night were Davidstown Courtnacuddy represented by Kelley Doyle, Seán and Darragh Cooper and James Kelly.  Cloughbawn were represented by Amy Hogan, Seán Keating, Stephen Casserly and Billy Wickham.  Competing for Castletown were Ross Cody, Eoin Cullen, Chris Calahan and Rory Heffernan. The local Glynn Barntown Club representatives were Jessie Morrissey, Rebecca Crean, Emma Kiely and Róisín Cooney.


A fantastic night’s entertainment was on offer in Oulart Hall on Saturday night last with the County Final of Scór na nÓg taking place.  The first competition of the night was the Figure Dancing with two Naomh Éanna Groups competing.  Both groups danced very well on the night.  Those who represented Naomh Éanna were Caroline’s Group: Caoimhe Kenny, Chloe O’Brien, Amy Doran, Ciara Black, Lauren Edwards, Gillian Hayes, Lauren Byrne, Eve Dunne.

Anne Marie’s Group: Leah O’Brien, Gabrielle Kavanagh, Áine Crowe, Maia McQuillan, Stacey Doyle, Donna Keegan, Agata Burak, Swetha Wickramaratne


Bannow Ballymitty were the only competitors in the Léiriú competition and gave a wonderful performance of music, song and dance based on the theme “The 15th of August in Cullenstown”.  Members of the group were Daniel Wickham, Cathal Cummins, Kate Cullen, Leona O’Grady, Niamh Colfer, Johanna Walsh, Kayleigh and Caoimhe Moran.


There was a very high standard in the Instrumental Music competition with Réalt na Mara winning on the night.  Representing Réalt na Mara were Cathal Lee, Áine Neary, Kate O’Loughlin, Cian Kenny and Seán Walsh.  Craanford were represented by Molly Tobin, Paddy Doyle, Fiona and James Doyle and Seán O’Callaghan.  Wearing the green and gold of Rathgarogue Cushinstown were Emmet and Rebecca O’Sullivan Ryan and Hope Barron.  Finally Bannow Ballymitty competitors were Kiera and Brídín Reville, Clare Moran, Joanne Colfer and Cian O’Grady.


It was Ferns who took the honours in the Ballad Group competition.  Lisa Doran, Katie O’Toole, Linda Murphy, Oran Fitzpatrick and William Dunne will represent the county in the Leinster Semi final in Dublin on Sunday 14th December at 2p.m.  Also competing in this competition were Naomh Éanna’s Tara O’Connor, Tara Cushe, Mollie Carroll, Lauren Purcell and Leah O’Mahoney.  Bannow Ballymitty were represented by Kayleigh, Caoimhe and Tom Moran, Kate and Wal Cullen, Ciara Breen, Emma Wickham, Róise Furlong, Lola Lacey and Caoimhe O’Dwyer.


Tara O’Connor, Tara Rocks and Niamh Bridges, St. Martin’s both gave great performances in the Recitation competition with Niamh Bridges qualifying for the Leinster Semi Final.


The final event of the night was the Solo singing with four competitors providing great entertainment for the audience.  St. Anne’s were represented by Eve Donohoe.  Kayleigh Moran sang for Bannow Ballymitty.  Cormac Cooper competed for Cloughbawn.  It was Blackwater’s Grace Murphy who qualified to represent Wexford in the Leinster Semi Final in Parnells G.A.A. Complex, Coolock.


Following the competition Scór Chairperson Aileen Kennedy thanked all involved with the successful running of the event.  Bean an Tí Breda Jacob announced the results and competitors were presented with their trophies by Chairperson Aileen Kennedy.  Well Done to all who took part and Best of Luck to all those who qualified for the Leinster Semi Final.


Photos attached
Ferns, St. Aidan’s Ballad Group Champions
Bannow Ballymitty Léiriú Winners
Naomh Éanna, Figure Dancing winners
Réalt na Mara, Instrumental Music Champions
Rathgarogue Cushinstown Instrumental Music Competitors
Bannow Ballymitty Ballad Group competitors.

A scor 1 A scor 2 A scor 3 A scor 4 A scor 5 A scor 6