Oulart The Ballagh claim 12th senior title

Oulart the Ballagh won their 12th Wexford senior hurling title at Innovate Wexford Park on Sunday when they defeated St Martins on a scoreline of 2-15 to 0-13.

Early scores from both sides saw the game settle into an even contest until midway through the first half when two goals from Oulart The Ballagh put daylight between them for the first time.

Nicky Kirwan netted the first after winning a high ball and laid it off to Peter Sutton. Kirwan continued his run and received the return pass to see him through on goal and  to prevent a block he hit a half volley to the net.

The second goal saw a long ball into Garrett Sinnott, who although wearing no. 10 was now playing in close to the goal. He gathered well and rounded inter-county colleague Tomás Waters before blasting low to the net.

Oulart maintained their lead to the half time break but St Martins came out stronger in the second half. Some superb skill and point taking by county footballer Ciaran Lyng heled the Piercestown side get back to within 3 points of the eventual champions.

However Oulart The Ballagh’s experience then came to the fore as they added three points in as many minutes. They scored five unanswered points in total from there to the finish to see them home by eight.

Captain Barry Kehoe accepted the Dr Bowe Cup on behalf of his team mates and centre forward Tommy Storey was named man of the Match.

Special thanks to Pettitts SuperValu who were celebrating their 21st year as Wexford senior hurling sponsors a major achievement and one welcomed by all in Wexford GAA.

Oulart the Ballagh now are away to Clough Ballacolla of Laois in O’Moore Park Portlaoise at 2pm on Sunday November 1st.

Scorers for Oulart the Ballagh: N Kirwan 1-5 (0-3f, 0-1 ’65); G Sinnott 1-2; D Mythen 0-3; P Sutton 0-2; D Redmond, R Jacob & M Og Storey 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Martin’s: C Lyng 0-5 (0-1f); P Kelly 0-3 (0-3f); J O’Connor & S Murphy 0-2 each; H O’Connor 0-1.

Oulart the Ballagh: C O’Leary; E Moore, K Rossiter, B Kehoe; K Sheridan, S Murphy, M Jacob; D Redmond, R Jacob; P Murphy, T Storey, D Mythen; G Sinnott, P Sutton, N Kiowan.

Subs: T Dunne for Murphy (22 mins); P Roche for M Jacob (36); M Og Storey for Dunne (43); D Nolan for Sutton (58); K Nimmo for T Storey (59).

St Martin’s: L White; W Devereux, D Hayes, C Firman; A Maddock, T Waters, P O’Connor; M Maloney, J O’Connor; J Firman, D Waters, H O’Connor; P Kelly, C Lyng, R O’Connor.

Subs: S Murphy for Maloney (HT); J Coleman for H O’connbor (42 mins); S Stafford for J Firman (55).

Referee: P Kehoe (Rathgarogue/Cushinstown)