Scor na nOg 2015 b

Busy weekend for Scór

Scor na nOg 2015 d


The Scór na nÓg semi finals took place on Friday and Saturday night last in Carrig-on-Bannow and Oulart Community Centres.  Friday night was the turn of the New Ross and Wexford Districts.  Bannow-Ballymitty were well represented on the night with St. Martin’s and Clongeen also participating.  The first competition of the night was the solo singing with Cillian Cullen, Joe Devlin, Jamie Walsh, Ciara Breen and Kayleigh Moran representing the local Bannow-Ballymitty Club and Abbie Casey performing for Clongeen.  Kayleigh Moran, Bannow-Ballymitty with a lovely rendition of Táimse i mo chodladh and Abbie Casey, Clongeen with a beautiful performance of The Green Fields Around Ferbane qualified for the County Final.  There was strong competition in the Recitation competition with St. Martin’s Niamh Bridges and Bannow-Ballymitty’s Sarah Galvin and Niamh Bridges qualifying for the County Final.  Niamh Bridges gave a great performance of June Rodger’s “The Birthday Party” while Sarah Galvin and Hannah Donohoe recited “Making the Team” by Philip Egan and “A Referee’s Prayer” respectively.  There was strong competition in the Instrumental Music competition with five groups from Bannow-Ballymitty competing.  Representing the club were Emma Wickham, Olivia Breen, Aaron Hogan, Róise Furlong, Wal Cullen, Ann Rossiter, Lola Lacey, Joe Devlin, Rachel Gaynor, Shane Carroll, Caoimhe Moran, Caoimhe O’Dwyer, Siobhán Rossiter, Cillian Cullen and Serena Reville.  The groups who will represent the club in the County Final are Callie Bennett, Kiera Reville, Jane Rossiter, Anna Harpur, Cian O’Grady, Tom Moran, Kayleigh Moran, T.J. Cullen, Aoife O’Dwyer and Philip Roche.  Again it was Bannow Ballymitty who was represented in the Ballad Group competition.  Both groups will represent the club in the County Final.  Caoimhe Moran, Caoimhe O’Dwyer, Emma Wickham, Mikey Davey and Cillian Cullen sang Grace and Táirse Abhaile while Lola Lacey, Wal Cullen, Chantelle Nugent, Aaron Hogan and Róise Furlong performed The Neamstown Shore and Ireland’s Call.  The final competition of the night was the Léiriú.  Bannow-Ballymitty performed an act entitled “The Scór Final” enhanced by their music and singing.  Competitors were Jamie Walsh, Caoimhe Moran, Caoimhe O’Dwyer, Aaron Hogan, Siobhán Rossiter, Hannah Donohoe, Ciara Breen and Cillian Cullen.

Scor na nOg 2015

Oulart Hall was the venue for the second semi-final with the Enniscorthy and Gorey Districts competing. Naomh Éanna dancers performed in the Figure Dancing competition.  Caoimhe Kenny, Eve Dunne, Gillian Hayes, Kayleigh Kinsella, Chloe Byrne, Blathnaid Kenny, Ciara Kennedy and Aoife Molloy qualified to represent the club in the County Final.  Stephen Furlong, Buffers Alley, Camille James, Naomh Éanna, Colette Mythen, Oulart the Ballagh, Éire Ní Fhaoláin, Craanford, Síofra O’Donoghue, Naomh Éanna, Shona Proctor Laird, Oulart the Ballagh and Chulainn Ó Faoláin, Craanford took part in the Solo Singing competition.  It was Camille James, Naomh Éanna and Éire Ní Fhaoláin, Craanford who progressed to the next round.  Declan Sinnott from Oulart the Ballagh performed Ach I Dunno in the recitation competition and also qualified for the County Final.Scor na nOg 2015 b

The Instrumental Music Competition was the largest competition of the night.  Three groups represented Naomh Éanna – Niamh Byrne, Abbie O’Donoghue, Sadhbh Sheil, Clíona Redmond, Alex Farrell, Ruby Farrell, Maia McQuillan, Fia Chambers, Aoife Redmond, Tara Cushe, Lauren Purcell, Tara O’Connor, Mollie Carroll and Leah O’Mahony.  Oulart also had a large representation.  Niamh Larkin Cooney, Molly Gallagher, Aisling Murphy, Sarah Walsh, Shauna Proctor Laird, Faith Masterson, Sabrina Kehoe, Katie Roche, Mel and Daire Swords performed for the local club.  Rathgarogue Cushinstown were represented by Eoin Doyle and Charlie Walsh. Réalt na Mara also had three groups competing.  Group 1: Kate O’Loughlin, Áine Neary, Ben O’Connor, Cian Kenny, Seán Walsh.  Group 2: Seán Óg Doyle, TJ Redmond, Aoife Wafer, Daniel Hersey Kenny and Billy Lee.  Group 3: Ben Ivory, Ellen O’Loughlin, Caoimhe Quirke, Brian Lee and Emma Walsh.  Réalt na Mara’s Group 1 and 2 qualified for the County Final.

The Ballad Group competition was the final one of the night.  Oulart were represented by Nathan Browne, Faith Masterson and Brónagh Kenny.  Naomh Éanna entered two Ballad groups.  Children representing Naomh Éanna were Jennifer O’Gorman, Ashley Bolton, Jenna Kenny, Camille James, Aalayiah Watters, Tara Cushe, Mollie Carroll, Lauren Purcell, Leah O’Mahony and Tara O’Connor.  Naomh Éanna’s two Ballad Groups qualified for the County Final.


Best of Luck to all those who qualified for the County Final to be held in Carrig on Bannow Community Centre on Friday 27th November at 7.30p.m.Scor na nOg 2015 c

Never miss an update! Sign up to the Wexford GAA newsletter.