Wexford District Annual Awards

More than 200 guests were in attendance in The Riverbank House Hotel Wexford last Saturday for the Wexford District Annual Awards presentation dinner.

 District President Dave Ormonde welcomed everyone and in particular the recipients and their families and hoped they would have an enjoyable evening.

 Andrew Nolan County Treasurer representing Wexford County Board congratulated all recipients on being recognised by their clubs and thanked the Wexford District Committee officers for organising the event.

 Guest speaker was well known Galway hurling coach and current RTE Sunday game pundit Cyril Farrell, commented on the uniqueness of the event in that it was the volunteers in clubs who were being recognised where it normally only players who are recognised.

 He went on to say that it is the volunteer who makes a club be they a player, administrator coach or parent and it is the club that is at the centre of what the GAA is all about and the part played by everyone within the GAA family and the volunteer based organisation that it is. Whilst the GAA is in competition with many other sporting organisations who receive much greater media coverage the GAA is at the core of Irish society and has survived the test of time when other Irish institutions were in decline.

 Speaking further he encouraged all present to invest in the development of our youth who are presently so vulnerable from the many modern day distractions and it was youth who are crucial to the future of the organisation.

 Dave Ormonde presented Cyril Farrell with a statute of a Pike Man in recognition of his attendance.

 The Wexford District Club of the Year award sponsored by the Riverbank House Hotel was won by Crossabeg-Ballymurn who completed an unique double in 2015 in winning Premier Under 21 Hurling and Football titles.