Celtic Challenge Finals

The Celtic Challenge reaches its zenith this Saturday 18th June, after seven enjoyable weeks of hurling. Nowlan Park will play host to the following Finals commencing at 10am and concluding at 6pm.10.00am: Corn Jerome O’Leary – Waterford City v Laois

11.40am: Corn Michael Feery – Westmeath v Wicklow

1.20pm: Corn William Robinson – Dublin Plunkett v North Wexford

3.00pm: Corn John Scott – Kerry v South Wexford

4.40pm: Corn Michael Hogan – South Kilkenny v Offaly

Tickets are available to purchase at Nowlan Park – €5 for Adults, free for U.16.

South Wexford and Kerry will battle it out for the Division Two title, the Corn John Scott. South Wexford were one of three teams to finish on 30 points via three wins in Group A, while Kerry fared exactly the same in Group D. South Wexford – who have lost just once so far, against Division One finalists South Kilkenny – have since battled past Dublin Clarke and North Clare, while Kerry have knocked out two fellow Munster sides in the shape of South/East Clare and South Tipperary. Seán Nolan, Sam Wall, Jack O’Leary and Jamie Myler could play key roles for South Wexford, as should Gearóid Fennessy, Michael McCarthy and Evan Murphy for Kerry.

The Model County will also be represented in the Division Three (Corn William Robinson) Final, where North Wexford will take on Dublin Plunkett. North Wexford won two and lost two in Group B and after getting through a high-scoring game against Meath with four points to spare, they put Derry to the sword in last Saturday’s semi-final. Dublin Plunkett won one and drew one of their four Group C games, but they have found their form in the knock-out stages with impressive wins over Louth and Galway City/West. North Wexford will need big performances from the likes of Charlie McGuckin and Cathal and Diarmuid Doyle, while Dublin Plunkett will be depending on Emmet Allen, Cónall Burke, Cormac Quinn and Michael Noonan.