2017 Scor crest

Weekend’s Scór na nÓg Semi-Final Details

Carrig on Bannow was the venue for the New Ross and Wexford Districts Scór na nÓg Semi-Final on Friday 17th November. Five clubs took part in this competition – Bannow Ballymitty, Glynn Barntown, Rathgarogue Cushinstown, St. Martin’s and Faythe Harriers.

The first competition of the night was the solo-singing and included performances by Bannow Ballymitty’s Lily Kelly, Niamh Colfer, Ciara Breen, Aoife Rossiter and Kayleigh Moran. Glynn Barntown were represented by Christine Turley and Jelena McNamara. Éabha Keane represented St. Martin’s while Isobel Kehoe performed for Rathgarogue Cushinstown. It was Kayleigh Moran and Ciara Breen who qualified for the County Final with lovely renditions of My Belfast Love and Beautiful Land of the Slaney.

In the recitation competition, Bannow Ballymitty Club was represented by Niamh Colfer and Jane Rossiter. Both qualified for the County Final.

The local club, Bannow Ballymitty had groups performing in the Ballad Group competition and were represented by Lucinda Martin, Siún Torpey, Síofra Cullen, Chantelle Nugent, Alannah Ryan, Jamie Martin, Aideen Harpur, Aoife Rossiter, Megan Moran, Lily Kelly, Cillian Cullen, Serena Reville, Wal Cullen, Caoimhe O’Dwyer and Ciara Breen. Glynn Barntown’s Emmeline Turley, Cliodhna Creane, Emma Dempsey, Aoibhín Ferriter and Kate Walsh and Bannow Ballymitty’s Cian O’Grady, Jane Rossiter, Niamh Colfer, Kayleigh Moran and Callie Bennett were successful.

Instrumental Music was the final competition of the night and here Faythe Harriers took to the stage with Jack, Mark and Calum Finucane, Josh Walsh and Oisín Ó Feinneadha performing for their club. Bannow Ballymitty were represented by four groups – Alec Moran, Tommy Murphy, Aideen Harpur, Kate Harpur, Jamie Martin, Siún Torpey, Megan Moran, Diarmuid Wall, Lily Kelly and Aoife Rossiter. Bannow Ballymitty’s groups of Cillian Cullen, Tom Moran, Caoimhe O’Dwyer, Serena Reville and T.J. Cullen and Cian O’Grady, Kayleigh Moran, Callie Bennett, Jane Rossiter and Caoimhe Moran will represent the District in next week’s County Final. This will be held in Carrig on Bannow Community Centre on Friday 24th November at 7.30p.m.

At the end of the night Scór Chairperson, Áine Kennedy thanked all those involved in making the night a success – local club, Bannow Ballymitty, Carrig on Bannow Community Centre, adjudicators, parents and most importantly competitors. She also thanked Irish Officer Cian Ó Lionáin for acting as Fear an Tí for the night.

IMG_1696 (2)

Bannow Ballymitty Ballad Group: Lani Ryan, Siún Torpey, Lucinda Martin, Síofra Cullen and Chantelle Nugent


Glynn Barntown Ballad Group: Emmeline Turley, Cliodhna Creane, Emma Dempsey, Aoibhín Ferriter and Kate Walsh


Bannow Ballymitty Ballad Group: Aoife Rossiter, Aideen Harpur, Megan Moran, Jamie Martin and Lily Kelly


Bannow Ballymitty Ballad Group: Cian O’Grady, Jane Rossiter, Callie Bennett, Niamh Colfer and Kayleigh Moran


Bannow Ballymitty Ballad Group: Cillian Cullen, Serena Reville, Caoimhe O’Dwyer, Ciara Breen and Wal Cullen


: Bannow Ballymitty Instrumental Music Group: Diarmuid Wall, Lily Kelly, Aoife Rossiter, Megan Moran and Siún Torpey


: Bannow Ballymitty Instrumental Music Group: Cian O’Grady, Caoimhe Moran, Callie Bennett, Jane Rossiter and Kayleigh Moran



Bannow Ballymitty Instrumental Music Group: Alec Moran, Aideen Harpur, Tommy Murphy, Kate Harpur and Jamie Martin


Faythe Harriers Instrumental Music Group: Josh Walsh, Mark Finucane, Calum Finucane, Oisín Ó Feinneadha, Jack FinucaneIMG_1721

Bannow Ballymitty Instrumental Music Group: T.J. Cullen, Serena Reville, Tom Moran, Caoimhe O’Dwyer, Cillian Cullen