11 WEB

Brave performance from Wexford U-20 Footballers but Dublin advance

Hard Luck to Wexford U-20 Footballers who put in a gallant performance against Dublin today in Innovate Wexford Park. Despite an excellent first half performance to lead 0-8 to 0-5 at half-time and a remarkable point from goal keeper  Ivan Meegan which he started from his own 20 metre line and made the solo to kick over from the 45 which will surely make one of the inter county football scores of the year, it wasn’t Wexford’s day when a A Ross McGarry goal 13 minutes from the end proved to be the only main difference of the teams
Wexford scores:  Ivan Meegan 0-4 (3 frees), Richie Waters, Kyle Firman, Cathal Devereux 0-2 each, Seán Nolan 0-1.
Wexford line out: 1. Ivan Meegan (Ferns St Aidan’s),4. David O’Keeffe (Taghmon Camross), 3. Mark O’Neill (Gusserane), 2. Frank Roche (Castletown),  5. Dylan Furlong (Sarsfields),  6. Ronan Devereux (Crossabeg-Ballymurn),  7. Gavin Sheehan (Gusserane),  8. Darragh Lyons (St James’), 9. Richie Waters (Fethard),  12. Kyle Firman (St Martin’s),  11. Mikey Dwyer (Fethard), 10. Robbie Brooks (Castletown),  15. Cathal Devereux (Our Lady’s Island),  14. Jamie Meyler (Horeswood),  13. Seán Nolan (Horeswood)
Wexford Subs: 17. Quinn Saunders for David O’Keeffe ,  18. John Dunne for Robbie Brooks ,  19. Cathal Walsh for Sean Nolan , 24. Jack O’Leary forMikey  Dwyer,  20. Paddy Dunbar for Frank Roche,   23. Jamie Thomas for Ronan Devereux.
Photos: Noel Reddy Wexford GAA