The 21st Wexford District GAA Club Awards, A Great night to acknowledge the committed volunteers of the Wexford Districts Clubs

The 21st Wexford District Annual Club Person of the Year awards  were held last Friday evening in The Riverbank House Hotel Wexford in front of an attendance of over 200 people.

 The Awards are designed to recognise the efforts and hard work of the many volunteers within the GAA Clubs within the Wexford District.

 Each of the recipients was chosen by their club for their commitment and dedication to their clubs and communities by virtue of their involvement, it is an indication of the work that is required to making a club successful.

District Chairman Tossy Ryan welcomed everyone to Awards night and acknowledged the clubs of the District on their successes in 2019 which was reflected in the numerous trophies that were evident on the night along with the Leinster Senior & Minor Hurling championship cups for 2019 along with the Walsh Cup which was won in 2020.

He thanked his fellow officers for their hard work throughout the year especially District Secretary Joe Sheehan for his tireless work all year to ensure that Wexford District is the envy of all other Districts.

 In attendance on the night were Wexford County Board Chairman Derek Kent , County Secretary  Gearóid MacDaibhéíd and County Treasurer Andrew Nolan.

Derek Kent thanked the District Officers for his invitation and congratulated the District for being so forward thinking in establishing the awards so many years ago and said that following the attendance last year at the awards night of An tÚachtarán Cumann Luthcleas Gael John Horan it is an idea that is being considered to happen in other counties including Dublin and Louth.

 Gearóid MacDaibhéíd congratulated all the clubs in the District on their successes in 2019 and reflected on the huge successes in winning both the Leinster Senior & Minor Hurling championships .

 Guest Speaker for the event was Ursula Jacob one of the most decorated Camogie players of the present day.

 She reflected on how dependent both the GAA and Camogie Association are on the input of the committed volunteers and awards such as this is one way of acknowledging such dedication and commitment. Such wonderful involvement in local communities is often taken for granted but without which many parishes and communities would be devastated and greatly impoverished.

 She painted a scenario of what could happen if the volunteer ,the bed rock  on what the GAA is built on,   :

 Grounds would not be maintained

Clubhouses and equipment would be neglected    

Fund raising , which all clubs depend on, would cease and most importantly  ,our youth would be deprived of the opportunities to play our National games in a safe environment their fitness, health and well being would be comprised and the joys of representing their clubs and county would be lost.

 Reflecting on her career she spoke of luck she was to be born into a family that was steeped in the GAA. She acknowledged the contribution made by the coaches in her own club Oulart The Ballagh to her development which ultimately resulted in her representing Wexford at the highest level  and giving her the opportunities to achieve so much success for both club an county.

 She also expressed her view that all players , be it club or county level, have a duty and responsibility to give back to the sport that  it is a privilege to play.

 As a token of appreciation District Chairman Tossy Ryan made a presentation to her on behalf of the officers and clubs of Wexford District.

 Individual recipients of the night were



Lar Lacey


Aidan Gilbert


John Cummins

Faythe Harriers

Therese Byrne


Maebh Cooney


Tony Rowe

Our Ladys Island

Danny Sinnott


Ian Donohue


Sheila Roche

St Annes

Francis Whelan

St Fintans

Martin Fanning

St Josephs

Dave Fitzgerald

St Martins

Tómas Codd

St Marys (M)

James Murray

St Marys (R)

Roy Ryan

Volunteers St Johns

Rory Dwyer


In addition to the Club person of the Year Awards 2 clubs are chosen annually for nominations to the District Hall of Fame, this year this honour fell to Blackwater & Glynn Barntown with the following being chosen

 Blackwater                          Mike Carroll

 Glynn – Barntown           Tom Rossiter.

 The final award presented on the night was the highly coveted Wexford District Club of the Year trophy ,sponsored by The Riverbank House Hotel. This award is voted on by the clubs in Wexford District and

this year’s winner was St Marys Rosslare with a delighted Club Chairman Conor Roche accepting the trophy on behalf of the club.