Footballers' League CampaignAT A GLANCE: Footballers’ league campaign

ROUND ONE: HOME v Sligo (January 30th)

Wexford open at home in Chadwicks Wexford Park to a Sligo outfit that they hammered in last year’s Division 4 Shield final after the Yeats County men were demoted from Division 3 in 2019.

ROUND TWO: AWAY v Cavan (February 6th)

Shane Roche’s men are on their travels in round two to a Cavan team which, despite their monumental Ulster championship title win in 2020, have been in freefall in the league, dropping straight from Division 1 to the lowest tier over the past three campaigns.

ROUND THREE: HOME v Tipperary (February 20th)

Round three brings Tipperary, another breakthrough provincial title-winner two years ago, to Chadwicks Wexford Park. The Premier County gained promotion to Division 2 in 2017 and maintained that status in 2018 before enduring relegation from the second tier in 2019 and then from Division 3 last year.

ROUND FOUR: AWAY v London (February 27th)

London are one of the longest residents in Division 4. But owing to Covid-19 travel restrictions, they weren’t involved last year. Their welcome return also means that – pandemic allowing – Wexford are heading off to England for this fourth-round clash – one for which the purple and gold will be on their toes after London shocked them in the 2019 league, although Wexford exacted revenge a year later.

ROUND FIVE: HOME v Waterford (March 13th)

Waterford were another to rock Wexford in 2019, and again like London, the Deise County have rarely seen action outside the fourth division. Waterford also edged Wexford in last year’s league, so Wexford have another score to settle here.

ROUND SIX: AWAY to Leitrim (March 20th)

Recent Mayo ace Andy Moran is now the star at the helm of Leitrim, who after escaping from Division 4 in 2019 – beating Wexford along the way – were back down after just one campaign, and they failed to avoid defeat last year.

ROUND SEVEN: AWAY to Carlow (March 27th)

As Wexford suffered demotion from Division 3 in 2018, Carlow were lifting themselves out of Division 4 before, just like Wexford, returning after one shot at the third division. Wexford beat them in 2020 before Carlow withstood a strong Wexford rally in last year’s meeting at Netwatch Cullen Park.


O’Byrne Cup tournament, Group B: January 8th, home v Laois; January 12th, away v Wicklow; January 15th, away v Meath; January 19th, Semi-final, Group B winner v Group C winner (Kildare, Westmeath or Carlow); January 22nd, final, semi-final winner v Longford, Louth, Offaly or Dublin

Leinster championship: April 23rd/24th, Round 1 v Offaly; April 30th/May 1st, Quarter-final v Dublin; May 14th/15th, Semi-final; May 28th, Leinster final